Cantor & Cantor Attorneys at Law
Your Future And Well-Being Are Our Priorities

DUI/DWI penalties in Florida

On Behalf of | Oct 11, 2021 | DUI/DWI Defense

Drinking and driving is a decision that affects not only the driver but everyone around them as well. To help prevent the hundreds of alcohol-related deaths each year, Florida has some pretty imposing laws regarding the consequences for these crimes. Before a driver makes a choice to get behind the wheel while intoxicated, perhaps they should reconsider the consequences of their actions.

How a single choice can come with major consequences

Depending on how many prior charges a driver has for DUIs, the consequences of the next charge will increase. The consequences for the first three offenses are as follows:

  • First offense – Up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, a revoked license of up to one year, and up to six months of an ignition interlock device.
  • Second offense – Up to nine months in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, a revoked license of up to one year, and up to two years of an ignition interlock device.
  • Third offense – Up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, a revoked license of up to one year, and up to two years of an ignition interlock device.

Additionally, if the first offense took place within a decade of the second offense, it will qualify the charge as a felony. A felony for this offense will also add up to five years in jail, 90 days of vehicle impoundment, and revoking their license for ten years. These charges apply to all fourth offenses, regardless of when the prior offense took place.

Do not risk the consequences

Despite what is at risk from a DUI, people still decide to even drive while “buzzed.” If you have to consider whether you are safe to drive or not, the answer should always be “no.” Call a rideshare, friend or family member for a safe way to get home and avoid the consequences of a DUI.