Drug trafficking carries serious criminal consequences in Florida, including potential prison time and fines. If you face this type of charge, you should understand the penalties as you prepare to defend yourself in court.
Review the factors that influence criminal sentences for Florida drug trafficking convictions.
Drug trafficking thresholds
Florida trafficking charges can result from possession of more than:
- A single gram of LSD (acid)
- 4 g heroin or fentanyl
- 7 g oxycodone
- 10 g ecstasy (MDMA)
- 14 g hydrocodone
- 28 g cocaine
- 1 kilogram GHB
The state mandates elevated charges when you exceed these thresholds. Florida considers drug trafficking a first-degree felony, with more serious penalties than for drug sales or possession alone. Unlike a drug sales charge, trafficking does not require proof of intent to sell, such as packaging or cash.
For a conviction, the state must prove that you knew the substance was under your control, either on your person or in a location you could access such as your home or vehicle. The court must also have confirmation of the weight and identity of the drugs in question.
Mandatory minimum sentences
Florida has mandatory minimum prison sentences in place for drug trafficking. For a first-time conviction, you will receive at least three years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. Penalties increase depending on the amount of the substance in question. For example, possession of more than 100 g oxycodone or 7 g LSD carries a minimum of 25 years in prison and a $750,000 fine. For more than 30 g heroin, you could receive life in prison and a fine of $1 million or more.