If you receive criminal charges of driving under the influence in Charlotte County, Florida, the implications of those charges can affect your life for years to come. It is important to take the right steps toward clearing those charges and avoiding a conviction.
Your criminal defense attorney is your first, and often strongest, layer of protection against the DUI charges against you. It is easier to make the right decision about hiring a criminal defense attorney when you understand the role of a lawyer in your case and how to build the best DUI defense.
The role of a Charlotte County, Florida defense attorney
Your criminal defense attorney can advocate for you in discussions with law enforcement as well as in the courtroom. A lawyer can also, of course, help you navigate the complexities of your situation and explain your rights every step of the way. The Florida statutes explain that even a first-time DUI offense is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and as many as 6 months in prison, so it is crucial to have the right kind of support in your corner.
Building a defense for your Charlotte County, Florida DUI
Consulting with a criminal defense attorney ensures that you can explore all your defense options in the face of a DUI charge. For example, you might take the approach that the police officer on the scene wrongfully searched your car to obtain evidence against you.
Drinking and driving is a serious offense in Charlotte County and all across Florida. If you find yourself contending with these types of charges, it is best to fully exercise your right to an attorney.